Sri Lanka Election Rajapaksa brothers win election result declared. The Mahinda-led SLPP won a landslide victory by winning a two-thirds majority in the general election. Colombo Former Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa going to sworn in as the Prime Minister of the country. He going to sworn fourth time On Sunday at a historic Buddhist monastery. With this, the Rajapaksa family’s hold on Sri Lankan power will become stronger.

According to an official statement, 74-year-old leader of the Sri Lanka People’s Party (SLPP) Mahinda Rajapaksa going to sworn in for the Ninth Parliament at Rajmaha Vihar in Kelaniya, a suburb of North Colombo. He received more than five lakh individual priority votes, the highest in the country’s electoral history.

This majority will prove important for the constitutional amendment to strengthen and strengthen the Rajapaksa family’s hold on power. The party won 145 seats and a total of 150 seats with allies, two-thirds in the 225-member parliament. 68 lakh voters exercised their franchise and the voting percentage was 59.9.

“I congratulate Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and all the candidates of Podujna Party who won the parliamentary elections by winning the popular vote,” the president tweeted ahead of the swearing-in ceremony on Sunday morning. Accordingly, the new cabinet will take oath on Monday, followed by the state and deputy ministers. The newly elected government has decided to limit the number of ministers in the cabinet to 26. Although this can be increased to 30 under the provisions of the 19th constitution amendment.

Read also Coronavirus (Covid-19) cases in Sri Lanka

The Rajapaksa family has dominated Sri Lankan politics for over two decades. It also includes SLPP founder and its national convenor Basil Rajapaksa. Younger brother of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and older than Mahinda. Mahinda has been president for a decade from 2005 to 2015. Namal Rajapaksa, the heir of the family and son of Mahinda Rajapaksa. He also won from Hambantota in the general election held on August 5.

President Gotabaya won the November presidential election on the SLPP ticket. They needed 150 seats in the parliamentary elections, which is necessary for constitutional changes. These include the 19th amendment of the Constitution. Which has strengthened the role of the Parliament and controlled the powers of the President. Reacting to the possibilities of amending the constitution. SLPP President GL Peiris tell on Friday that it would be done after much deliberation.

He tell reporters, “Clearly, some modification is needed. But when it comes to the governance of the country, it cannot be done this way. After Gotabaya win to the presidency. He failed to form a government supporting the program by dissolving the parliament due to the 19A constitution amendment. While former opposition MPs demanded the reopening of parliament.

Most Importantly “The results of the general elections make it clear that the government that the people wanted after the new president has been elected, but it is different from the previous parliament,” Peiris said. He said, “These things should change.” If needed, the new government has the power to change the constitution. ”

Finally Activists are already warning that the scope for disagreement and criticism is diminishing in the country and this could lead Sri Lanka to totalitarianism. The biggest shock in the parliamentary elections has been the United National Party (UNP) of former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, which could win only one seat. The country’s oldest party failed to win a single seat in 22 districts. Its leader, who has been Prime Minister four times, has suffered a defeat for the first time since 1977. Sri Lanka Election Rajapaksa brothers win is a big mark in Sri Lankan Politics.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: